357 Magnum LED Grow Light Review

357 Magnum LED Grow Light

**This post is outdated, published 3 years ago - please read comments, I no longer recommend this company. But this one is good** From my own experience with this website, I know that 90% of visitors here are looking for information and products to help them grow medical herbs. Many of the leading LED companies out there post pictures and videos of their lights growing herbs, lettuce, tomatoes and the like while only eluding to growing herb. I don't know about you but I don't know too many people that would spend good money to grow basil indoors. Then a reader of my site asked me about the 357 Magnum LED grow light - it seems to me that it is perfectly suited to growing larger flowering plants like tomatoes, peppers, and cucumbers as well as - medicinal herbs.

357 Magnum LED Grow Light For Medicinal Herbs

One look at the technical specs on the light and I was impressed.  The Magnum may be perfectly suited for growing the best medical herbs at home. So is this light worthy of that coveted spot in your grow room? NO I think so - and here is why.

Background On The 357 Magnum

While the 357 Magnum LED grow light is new to the marketplace, I can tell you that the parent company is not new to the industry.  This company has been around for over 4 years and they obviously know what they are doing, which is not indicative of some fly by night group out of China looking to make a buck.  The owner has over 20 years of growing experience and it shows in the results from this LED grow light.

Technical Specs

  • 11 Light Bands - I have said on this site that there really is no need for anything over 5-7 bands in your grow light. It seemed to me that adding excess bands and light spectra (especially white light) is just a step backward in efficiency, like HID lighting. However, you just can't deny proof that these lights can grow big, dense bud. There are plenty of grow journals that document the results of these lights.
  • Uses 3W/3 Chip Bridgelux Diodes - While you can find good LED grow lights that use Chinese made diodes, there are two brands of LEDs that are, undeniably, at the top: Bridgelux and Cree. It is widely accepted that Cree LEDs are the best in the business while Bridgelux are a close second. Why do they use the #2 brand? Simple - cost versus benefit. While the Cree LEDs may put out 8% more light per diode, they do so at an increased cost of nearly 400%! Save your money, buy LED grow lights using Bridgelux instead. While 1W LEDs work great for growing shorter plants like in a SOG/SCROG grow, a great benefit to having 3W LEDs in the light is increased penetration power which is key when growing taller plants.
  • 357 Magnum Output - The Magnum light, built on 119 x 3W/3Chip Bridgelux diodes puts out around 180W of growing strength. This can be a bit confusing as it is marketed as a 357W light, however, due to diode efficiencies (read here), actual output is claimed to be 180W. That fact should not be taken as a negative, just a function of how diodes work.
  • Focused Beam Technology - This is marketing lingo relating to the LED beam angle. The 357 Magnum utilizes a hybrid beam angle combining 60 and 90 degree diodes which, with 3W diodes, gives growers a one-two punch to ensure your light penetrates the canopy. Typical beam angles are 90 and 120 degrees which gives a larger grow area but does so at the cost of penetration - light is scattered more instead of delivered in an intense, laser-like beam. The benefit here can be more bud-producing colas and higher yield.
  • Spectrol Spectrum Control - I used to think that features like spectrum control were just more marketing gimmicks, however, I have been shown the error of my ways. Spectrum control enables you to dial in the correct spectra of light corresponding to the plant's current stage of growth. For example, during veg, you want to kick up the blue wavelengths and reduce the red. To get the thickest, most dense bud and more yield during flowering, you need to go big on the red side of the spectrum. This light lets you do just that.

Customer Support & Service

If you have ever bought a cheap LED grow light from a Chinese importer, you know first hand how poor the service can be. On top of that, if anything ever happens to your light, are you really going to spend a couple hundred to send it back to the manufacturer to get it fixed?

Lets face it, ANY product, no matter how well it is manufactured can develop an issue along the way. Anyone that has tried to repair LED grow lights from your everyday importer knows that it is usually impossible to fix because of the way they are built.

One of my favorite benefits of the 357 Magnum is that it uses customer serviceable parts. Nearly 90% of issues you run into with LED grow lights are due to a problem with the power supply. While the cheap imports are made to NOT be fixable by the customer, the 357 Magnum LED features easily replaceable discrete power supplies.

Even though the 357 Magnum light is built with high-quality components and repairs are rarely needed, it would help me sleep better at night knowing that IF something happens, fixing it is quick and easy. If it is determined that a power supply needs fixed, they can just send one out to you within a couple days. Otherwise (if you don't want to fix it yourself) you can send it back to British Columbia, Canada to get it fixed for you under their 3 year warranty.

357 Magnum LED Grow Light - Not For Everyone

This is one serious grow light. Because it is built with the best components, this is NOT a cheap LED grow light. The 357 Magnum sells for $650 which includes shipping and it is worth every penny. This light is designed to be a replacement for a 800W HID light for vegetative growth and up to 600W in flowering - power consumption, yield, potency, flavor, etc.

{ 190 comments… read them below or add one }

Jimbo in LA November 21, 2011 at 8:25 pm

I’m working with a 4′by 6′ flowering area and a 2.5′ by 3′ veg. Area. Thanx for the help. can’t wait to get on the the go with LED. Any info from anyone is appreciated.

Jimbo in LA November 21, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Thanks for the quick response. I will be putting in my order ASAP.!!!! Thanks for the feedback and for having a site where knowledge can be shared by actual growers. As opposed to the hype we as consumers have to sort through. It can be a bit much to take on alone. Thanks again.
-Jimbo- hoping for JUMBO results!

HydroMan November 23, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Hey Jimbo –

Glad I could help! Keep me updated or better yet – check out the forum and get posting :)

LEDGrowLightForum.com

Later,
Hydroman

HydroMan November 23, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Puddin –

Trouble with rectangular lights is that the foot print is always a bit janky . . .

I know that magnum’s site says they cover a 3×3 but I rather run on the conservative side and have them cover a 2×2.5ft section. So that means with 2 of them you can fully cover a 2×5. In either case, you were never really fully covered with a 4.5 x 4.5 anyway.

So, yes, you do need more light. I think the ideal would be for 4 total of the original Magnums . . . but adding one more to the mix will definitely help.

Thanks,
Hydroman

cheesus November 28, 2011 at 9:02 am

hydro dude
hey hydro dude need some advice on led lights how many to use and if they produce the same results? if you can help me would be very grateful, my room is 2.5m – 2.5m i usually have 3x 600w dual spectrum lights, a 4th produces to much heat, i fill the space with as many 12litre pots as i can which is 37 in total i do a 2/2 half weeks veg and 9 weeks flower,i get 58-60 oz every time which is just over 1.5 oz a plant and nearly 1g to 1watt . what lights would you advise me to use in this space and still get the same results if not better?
hope you can help as im really interested in trying led, thanks for any help you can give

HydroMan December 6, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Cheesus –

For a grow like this, I would recommend a light that would allow for very even coverage and light distribution because you have to be sure you don’t have any low spots in the lighting coverage. The best way to do this is to use multiple, smaller light sources such as the 180W Jumbo Illuminator from ProSource or the Magnum . .. both deliver about the same power but, in this case, I think I would pick the Illuminator based on shape. The round shape lends itself to a more even distribution of light and cover areas.

Each of the 180W lights can cover a 3×3 area for flowering for plants up to about 4ft tall – to match the yield, I would think that 9 x 180W would do the trick.

Later!
Hydroman

monk December 18, 2011 at 8:23 am

can you tell me which light and how many would best suit a 1.2m x 1.2m hydro tent?

HydroMan December 21, 2011 at 10:42 am

Hey Monk –

How tall do you want to grow?

The 357 Magnum can do well covering a 2×3 ft space max during flowering so if you have a 4×4, I would recommend two of them to get better coverage. Their Magnum Plus is supposed to cover a full 4×4 space but I have not tested one myself.

Personally, I like the idea of going with several smaller LEDs instead of one large one… more even coverage, no high/low light spots, same cost. I am think of something like 4 x 90W for your space.

Thanks,
Hydroman

derrick January 6, 2012 at 5:53 pm

i have read about the lights that you recommend, they all sound good, my question is i will be growing in a room 7 feet x 7 feet x 6 feet high, i can go smaller to make it easier but i would like to know your opinion how many lights versus plants that i can put in that area. Thank you

HydroMan January 13, 2012 at 11:21 am

Derrick –

I prefer to go with multiple smaller lights instead of fewer high powered lights. You get better results and more even coverage using many light sources. The number of plants depends on the size you want them to grow . . . could be 10-20 medium plants in that space. The number of lights . . . take their stated coverage area for flowering and reduce it by 6-12 inches on all sides to provide overlap of coverage areas.

THanks!
Hydroman

LEVITRON January 18, 2012 at 9:25 pm

I’ve had the new magnum plus for 6 weeks.. it is so remarkable .. running it with a hydro system I built 40 x 48″.. phresh filters both ways.. enclosed sealed room.. looks like a nice 4 door storage area in garage.. the blue light gets em going alternate full spectrum with blue.. the full when they rise up.. thing was it grew them so incredible bushy and large it over grew my area and the large plants took over.. so I’m now heading into flowering and am alternating alot of red and dang.. its so very plentiful and sweet.. my next grow will be more expected and controlled .. this light exceeds all expectations. I’m in no way associated with the company.. I paid 1000 bucks for it and its worth more IMHO.

j February 27, 2012 at 7:27 pm

the mag + i bought arrived 23/feb/2012 and within 10 minutes on full spectrum the power supply blew for the top two blue layers they are sending me out two back up power supply but for the not so electronicaly gifted i have no idea whatsoever on how to replace the power supply please if you could email me a link or maybe an actual video of someone changing the power supply with step by step instructions or any other suggestion would be welcome i must say the ones that are working correctly are ludicrously bright i just want to fix my fixture and enjoy the fruits of my labour peace

Karen March 15, 2012 at 12:57 pm

I’ve been using 1000w HID per 9 plants with very good results. I’m now considering LED lights because my current space is a 8′ x 14′ x 6′ high room. I only plan to grow 18 plants. How many Magnums would I need?

Tiffany April 5, 2012 at 11:57 am

If all you care about is the product, then go with this company I guess… but their customer service is skewed. They were rude and I don’t recommend leaving a review on their site. If its an honest review or isn’t perfect, they won’t post it. And even if its a positive review they change your words to whatever they want… o_O? thats weird… why would they need to do that?

scatterbrain April 7, 2012 at 2:56 pm

I have a GH rainforest 66 with intent on 4×4 grow area and I was wondering if I should opt for the 357 magnum or the prosource jumbo 180w illuminator?? I am new to growing indoors and hydroponics so I am trying to get as much info as possible .

Thank you in advance

KEN April 11, 2012 at 9:41 am

The light is no good!!! save your money!

HydroMan April 25, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Scatterbrain –

Neither of those lights would be suitable on their own for a 4×4. Each light is good for up to a 3×3 for flowering . . . so if you want to cover the FULL 4×4 with completely even coverage, you would need four of them (each coverage area would overlap). Or, you could use 4 of the 90w Illuminators for a less expensive alternative.

Later,
Hydroman

cris x July 9, 2012 at 9:51 pm

This company has too many fake review websites to be trusted. Think twice before paying for their over-priced lights. I would rather deal with an honest Chinese company.

angel July 9, 2012 at 11:00 pm

quest, in the market and heard gotham led 500 watt blk stars are great. actual power is 300 which is great at 550 bucks. my quest will 2 work for flowerin using a 4×4 or should i down size to a 2×4 to get 3 monsters?

HydroMan July 10, 2012 at 10:21 am

Yeah – I am no fan of their marketing tactics . . .

Hydroman

HydroMan July 10, 2012 at 10:23 am

Angel –

The price is great but the quality is poor and the results are mediocre . . . but to answer your question directly, you could put 2 of them in a 2×4 or 2×5 and get some decent results.

Cheers!
Hydroman

Pawsrdog January 7, 2013 at 2:58 am

I bought the Magnum plus. I am writing this to let people know about 2 things, the light itself and the warranty service.

The light itself is very bright. I have only been able to use it for 1 grow. The plants came out ok. The light is very loud. Fans run full blast all the time. There is no temp control of any kind. I used this light to grow/flower 6 plants. It was tough as the footprint for the light was not big enough. Some mirror film and other supplimental things worked ok.

So the reason for this review is this, after 10 months of use a red bank in the light died. I called grow perfect and the guy said the ps for that bank probably went bad. He (who is in canada) said he would send 1 out right away. It arrived DHL from china. Hooked it up and no go. After further testing I found 1 resistor and the led next to it were burned up. Again I called and he said(same guy as before) he would sent out a few resistors and a few led’s. Well again DHL from china and the package arrives but it was 2 ps’s for the fans. They sent the wrong parts. Called again and again got the same guy. His name is Dave. Told him they sent the wrong stuff and he said he would send some out to me that day. Never arrived. Called 2 weeks later and again he said he would send them out right away. Again never arrived. So again I called and he asked me to send an email to him verifying my address. I did so and called back again. He was busy and asked if he could call me back. That was a month ago. I have called atleast 50 times in that month and no one answers the phone. I have left emails through their web site and have not gottin any responce. At this point I have been dealing with them/him for 4 months to fix this light.

So I paid a grand for this piece of crap. When it first got delivered there was a ticket in the box that said $500. Ok so I paid this guy a grand for a 500 dollar light.

Now I am forced to repair the light myself. The resistors are easy to get they are nothing special. They are 200ohm smd 1206 resistors availble from many places. The led’s however, well good luck. I have talked to several distributers and none of them carry it or can get it. So I am guessing they are some china made crap because I checked with cree, edison, epistar, bridgelux and some others and I can not find this led in the usa. I am forced to try to repair it with different led’s but ones that have a similiar voltage and amperage. I am waiting now for some parts to come in that I had to buy to see if I can get this light fixed and if it does not work then I am out the cost of the light plus the parts I bought to repair it. I also had to buy some soldering tools to work on such small parts.

Moral of the story, DO NOT BUY THIS LIGHT!!!!!!!!! Make sure to buy a light that you can get parts for yourself(even if some one else has to solder it atleast you can get the parts). Between the cost of the light($1,000), the parts to hopefully fix it($20) and a soldering station to repair it($230), I am $1,250 into it. If I can not fix it, then it is a wasted 1,250 bucks.

The magnum Plus grow light is a BUST in my opinion. Cheaply made light with crappy warranty service. I hope this review saves some one from getting screwed like I did.

HydroMan January 7, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Pawsrdog –

I am sorry to hear about your experience with GP and Dave. Unfortunately, I have heard others with similar stories. I will be updating this review to include information to that extent but in the meantime, sign up for my newsletter . . . I have been testing a light from a new company now for a few months and the results have been pretty exciting. The company is not quite online yet (will be soon) but send me an email and I can give you contact info if you like.

Cheers!
Hydroman

Patrick Bannan January 16, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Thanks for the great info on Magnum Plus . I purchased one ( MagnumPlus 2 )to try from Dave in BC and expect to receive next week. I hope that I have better luck than some of your other readers.I plan on buying five more if their the right fixture.

Pat

Steve Meyer February 18, 2013 at 12:34 am

I would like to know more about the new led light you are testing from the company that is not online yet

HydroMan February 20, 2013 at 11:13 am

TruLiteLED.com go check them out there or facebook.com/truliteled

stuart March 30, 2013 at 4:28 pm

would like more info on new led lights

HydroMan March 30, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Hey Stuart – I will be updating this site soon. In the mean time, check out http://www.TruLiteLED.com

Cheers,
Hydroman

greenthumb April 12, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Hey there Hydroman,

I kinda new at this indoor growing and have bin doing major reading on the subject but not finding what I want
. My problem is I am converting a 12 ft x 12ft room in my shop into a grow room . (its legal now in wa state, yipee !) I am builder my trade(retired) it will be insulated and sheet rocked east to heat . want to use Led’s since they sound the best. If a guy was to put 2 row of LED’s end to end with a spce between the rows giveing you 2 – 12 runs of scrog systems plants under them what light would you recomend for that ?

thanks for any help,
Walt

HydroMan April 13, 2013 at 12:15 am

Walt –

Depending on how much you really want to grow, I can see two 4×12 rows in there. Personally, I would take each 2×2 ft space and put in about 200W of LED if you really want to get big results (you can do fine with less though). A set up like that could get you several lbs per cycle. The company to go with is http://www.TruLiteLED.com – talk to Mathew, he’ll set you up!

Cheers!
Hydroman

P.W.AXEL June 3, 2013 at 8:50 pm

RE: 357 mag plus………..hope their product is better than their lack of customer support. Ordered one on 5/23/13, and as of 13 days later, still not shipped..After reading some of the negative reviews on your site, cancelled order. No return phone calls or E mail response from them. Cant imagine if I had their led and needed help with a problem…maybe if I was a BC citizen, it would have been different???? Save your $ and time , PW AXEL USA

David Bork June 22, 2013 at 8:54 pm

I ordered the 357 magnum plus on May 15th.Recieved it on Tuesday June 18th.Set the thing up on Saturday June 22nd.Plugged it in and turned it on only to find one of the corner lights do not come on. I have e-mailed the company. They say you have 48 hours to report a problem. I did not plug it in till today. I hope they are not lame. I will report back later.

David Bork November 16, 2013 at 11:09 pm

I purchased the 357 magnum light online after reading the reviews on the site in May of 2013.I did not receive the light until July, it was a full 2 months. Attempting to contact this company you get an answering service,and you can only leave a message. One of the Elements did not function. I called the number that is given for new customers. When I told them about the problem, I was told they would send a replacement element. Well, it’s November 16th and nothing has come. They are in Canada.

william dever December 6, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Dont buy this light,trust me i had a 357 mag plus and after 1-2 years the board will fry,which means you have to send it to canada.I sent mine 4 months ago for the kick ass warranty repair they claim,but the kicker is you will never see your light again and they will ignore all your emails.ups confirmed delivery and they even told me they fixed it and i will have it in my hands in 3 days!never to be seen again…………scam

HydroMan December 6, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Hi William –

Honestly, I have been thinking about taking this review down for these very reasons…I have seen time and again where people have been taken by them and I know this site has sent them quite a bit of business. Perhaps I will put a big warning at the beginning of the article.

If you are looking for a new light – check out http://www.truliteled.com – 100% scam free :)

~Hydroman

william dever December 22, 2013 at 3:02 pm

please do not buy magnum plus,it seems that this site supports mag plus.They are a scam company stealing thousands from people,including myself,i sent it to canada for a warranty problem and they stole the light and ignore me like the plague.besides a 400 watt hps will yield double than that 1200 dollar piece of shit!

william dever December 26, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Update on magnum plus led,i sent 15 more emails to grow perfect tech since my last post but of course no reply.Its been almost 5 months since they recieved the light.I also call daily but nobody ever answers.I guess my 1000 dollar light will never be seen again,I cant believe they ignore me like that,hopefully someone can send a email to them and ask a question just to see if you get a response.please dont buy this light and gets scammed like myself.

Spike Hurricane January 5, 2014 at 2:00 pm

I ordered what I thought was a 357 mag plus on 5/2013 what I got looked nothing like the pic. on their website. I kept it and it work the first grow. Now the 2nd grow and 6 of the 9 lights have failed sent emails to customer support at Grow Perfect no response left a few voice mails no response. At last someone answered (DAVE) he requested I send pics of the failed light so he could send the right parts. I did that on 1/4/14 hope to here from them soon. I recall ordering this light from Dave over the phone last may I asked about the warranty and he assured me if I had problems they would replace any failed parts and I could fix it myself because the light is easy to work on. I’m not going to slam them for now I’ll give them (Dave) a reasonable amount of time to make good on their word. But after reading some of these negative comments I have a bad feeling I’m about to take it up the back side on this one. I’m hopeful this wont happen with my case. As of 1/5/14 no response to my emails yet from customer support and I started sending emails on 1/3/14 when I first noticed the failure I know it’s the week end. Like I said I will allow a reasonable amount time. For them to make it right. I can say I did notice that this light saved some on the electric bill the only plus so far. As far a yield maybe a little more than the old HPS system. With my old system I only had to replace bulbs when they burnt out. I my end up going back old school way. it worked for over 15 years and all involved were never disappointed.

spike hurricane January 12, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Looks as if I got took also. After a solid week of phone calls and emails and no response from Grow far from Prefect No replacement parts or a replacement light. I have to conclude I got screwed also by This Company of thieves. I do not recommend any body to buy this light or do business with this company . If you like pissing your coin away then by all means do so. I’m going to call my credit card company and see if they can be of any help. If GP (Dave) does take care of this lame light I will post that here But not looking good so far. The last time I spoke with Dave he claims he was busy with trade shows that was his sad excuse for not calling me back. If you see this Company at a trade show walk the other way ASAP very far away

william dever January 16, 2014 at 9:17 pm

In my case the board went bad and i had to send to canada for repair.They said to claim 0 dollars in value for customs and to state the item is in for warranty repair,reason being they would have to pay taxes on the light if i claimed 1000 in value.I was definately leary about the whole thing,but they wouldnt accept shipment unless i claim 0 in value, so against better judgement i sent the light.They recieved it about 6 months ago ups tracking confirmed,And they ignore every phone call and email i send for 6 months believe me dont send for a repair,just have them ship parts to you and if you cant fix it throw it in the trash,they are going out of business and they will screw you if you give them a chance.

Leave a Comment


Previous post:

Next post: